I know what your thinking, this will be a post about the outdoors and camping or hot hot it is or something like that.  Well, no, not really.

The church I attend, Journey North, held an outdoor service yesterday.  It was at a park in town.  The park has a pavilion, and benches and lots of trees.  It was really nice weather, cool with a little breeze.  Everything would have been perfect.  Except that the park has a playground.  With swings and slides.  I have kids.  They want to play on the playground (shocker, I know!), and not sit and listen to some sermon.

I really like outdoor services. I think they are a great way to shake things up a bit.  But, at every church I have ever gone too, outdoor services are NOT for people with kids.  How do I know this?  They never have any type of childcare at these services, so those with kids inevitably end up chasing or playing with their kids.  I know what you are thinking, if only the Almond was better behaved, he would have sat there for the entire hour and paid close attention to the pastor. WRONG! The Almond is TWO!!  He could care less about what the pastor is saying, especially when there is a giant slide and swingset only 50 feet away. 

He did end up being happy to sit on my shoulders. From there, he could reach the leaves of the tree, shred them and sprinkle them on my head.  A great time was had by all.  BTW, the sermon was about independence day, how accecpting Christ into our lives is OUR independence day, and we should view it as such.  It was pretty good, what I heard of it. I can’t wait until they start offering the sermons on CD so that I can hear the ones I miss on days like that.